Pacific Islands Forum Fisheries Agency

The Pacific Islands Forum Fisheries Agency (FFA) strengthens

national capacity and regional solidarity so its 17 members can

manage, control and develop their tuna fisheries now and in the

future. Based in Honiara, Solomon Islands, FFA's 17 Pacific

Island members are: Australia, Cook Islands, Federated States

of Micronesia, Fiji, Kiribati, Marshall Islands, Nauru, New

Zealand, Niue, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon

Islands, Tokelau, Tonga, Tuvalu and Vanuatu.

FFA was established to help countries sustainably manage

their fishery resources that fall within their 200 mile Exclusive

Economic Zones (EEZs).

FFA is an advisory body providing expertise, technical assistance

and other support to its members who make sovereign decisions

about their tuna resources and participate in regional decision

making on tuna management through agencies such as the

Western and Central Pacific Fisheries Commission (WCPFC).

Since 1979, FFA has facilitated regional cooperation so that all

Pacific countries benefit from the sustainable use of tuna –

worth over $3 billion a year and important for many people’s

livelihoods in the Pacific.

Vision Statement

The joint aim of members of the Forum Fisheries Agency

is captured in its Vision Statement, which states:

“We, the Member Countries of the Forum Fisheries Agency,

will enjoy the highest level of economic and social benefits

that is compatible with sustainable use of our tuna resources.”